2014-2015 Bay Area Hoops All-Hillsborough County(Boys/Girls)



Coach of the year: Barry Jacobs of Newsome HS has been persistent for a couple of years by keeping the same game plan allowing players develop chemistry.  Last year Jacobs was close to a District Championship but fell short after loosing to Wharton.  His programs record is 23-2; 9-1 in their district and beat Wharton HS to obtain the 2014-2015 Class 8A, District 7 Championship.

Player of the year:   Juwan Durham, Tampa Prep

2016 F 6'9'' Juwan Durhan (Picture courtest of BCP)
2016 F 6’9” Juwan Durhan (Picture courtesy of BCP)

2016 6’9” F Juwan Durham of Tampa Prep keeps getting better and better.  He’s also has been ranked as one of the country’s top 25 prospects for the class of 2016 by 24/7 sports.

Durham, has compiled over 1,696 points in just 3 years and ranks 30th in Hillsborough County history.  He averaged 22.9 ppg, 10.2 rpg and 4.7 bpg.  Durham dominated in many;  if not most of his games this season. His defensive post presence and ability to score in the post has been a luxury for Tampa Prep.

Durham’s developing leadership skills has guided the Terrapins to a 23-7 overall record, 8-0 in their district, a trip to the Class 3A regional final game against Orlando First Academy where Durham was sidelined due to injury (ACL). Terrapins were last year’s state runner-up.  Juwan has recorded 16 double doubles, a season-high of 42 pts against Seffner Christian plus a triple double against Brooks De-Bartolo. Recently Durham grabbed 18 pts and 10 rebs against and top ranked Montverde Academy.  Coach Fenlon said “Juwan showed people why he is one of the top players in his class in the country.”

Durham currently has offers from Florida, Kansas, Miami, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Indiana, Louisville, Memphis, NC State, Oklahoma, Ole’ Miss, South Carolina, USF, Texas and Texas A&M, LSU and Georgia Tech.



First Team:

Jonathan Jean
Jonathan Jean







  • Jonathan Jean 2015 Eastbay HS PG: Has been the backbone of East Bay. Averaging 20.3 ppg, 6.3 apg and 4.3 rpg.
  • Isiah Channer 2015 Strawberry Crest HS PG:  Without Channer, Crest would not be in the conversation.  A stat filler when  needed.  Averaging 12.9 ppg, 6.1 rpg, 6.5 apg and 4.4 spg
  • Maurice Moore 2015 Jefferson HS SG: Has grown as a player. Becoming dominant and leading Jefferson to their first district title.  Averaging 19.5 ppg and 5.9 rpg.
  • Christian Whidden 2015 Jesuit SF: Averaged 17.6 ppg and 7.1 rpg.
  • Bryant Searcy 2015 Brooks-DeBartolo SF: Averaged 13.5ppg and 4.8 rpg.  A threat at the SF position.
  • Kevin Knox 2017 Tampa Catholic SF:  Becoming a household name in the county.  Next leader of the pack! Averaged 24.4 ppg and 10 rpg.
  • David Jones 2016 Leto HS PG:  This kid is making some noise at Leto and in the county.  Averaged 22.1 ppg, 9.6 rpg, 5 apg and 2.2 spg
  • Payton Wilson 2015 Tampa Bay Tech SF: His game spoke volumes this year.  Really put TBT on his back.

(Stats via Maxpreps)

Second Team:

Danial Morales
Danial Morales







  • DJ Sharp 2015 East Bay HS PG
  • Thomas Dziagwa 2016 Tampa Catholic PG/SG
  • Danial Morales 2015 Newsome HS SG
  • Jarred Anderson 2015 Brooks-DeBartolo PG/SG
  • Devonte Myles 2015 Armwood HS SF
  • Sheldon Odunna 2016 Freedom HS SF
  • RJ Palmer 2015 Wharton HS SF
  • Daniel Darst 2015 Jesuit SF/PF


Third Team:

Marcus Cohen
Marcus Cohen







  • Michael Fridella 2015 Tampa Prep PG
  • DJ Ward 2015 Wiregrass Ranch PG
  • Marcus Cohen 2017 Sickles PG
  • Kent Hagerty 2015 Seffner Christian SG
  • Jacob Mathis 2015 Berkeley Prep SG
  • Derek Webster 2017 Seffner Christian SF/PF
  • Tyler White 2017 Durant PG/SG
  • Sam Schobben 2015 Plant SF


Honorable Mention:

  • Robinson: Travis Forehand, Iyan Mitchell
  • Middleton: Dontez Hardy, Donald Jordan
  • Steinbrennier: Jack Frank, Craig Hall Jr.
  • Freedom: Miguel Rojas
  • Brooks-DeBartolo: KaJuan Jones, Johnny Lampkin, Aikeem Sims
  • Blake: Charles Isaac
  • Jefferson: Vernon Jackson, Taj Jenkins
  • Brandon: Romillo Fields, Dante Mitchell
  • Durant: Erick Hernandez
  • Tampa Prep: Tyson Ward, Amari Goulbourne
  • Newsome: Donovan Geter, Colton Stafford
  • Bloomingdale: Drew Bethoney, Todd Kaiser
  • Wharton: Philip Malcolm, Evan Trice
  • East Bay: Cedric Perry
  • Bayshore Christian: Mathew Eckermann
  • Hillsborough: Zach Carter, Domani Davis
  • Plant: Jalen Williams
  • Alonso: Terance Brown
  • Bishop McLauglin Catholic: William Potosky
  • Strawberry Crest: Emory Williams, Jordan White
  • Wiregrass: Anthony Castillo
  • Sickles: Bryce Beame, Antwann Jones
  • Plant City: Tariq McKelphin
  • Berkeley Prep: Kaleeyl Findlay
  • Armwood: Jonah Johnson

RaShawn Fredricks 2015 Chamberlain SG/SF (Injured DNP)




Coach of the Year:

La’Tosha Lewis, Strawberry Crest: Coach Lewis has been a demanding defensive coach since the start of the program in 2009.  Lewis set standards defensively with the Lady Chargers and it was hard for opponents to overcome.  Crest battled Plant City all year to win it’s second district title in a row.  Going 22-6 overall and 10-1 in their district. 

Player of the Year:

5’9″ PG Taylor Emery (Freedom): The Tulane University commit Taylor Emery is the county’s all-time leading scorer with 2,689 points after averaging 36.4 a game this season.  Sometimes I really think she is a “Machine”!  Emery did whatever she wanted on the court, she got to the basket and had her way all year long.  She’s strong, with a pretty pull-up jump shot. SWEET!!


First Team:

  • SF 2015 Peyton Walker (Seffner Christian):
  • PF 2017 Alise Davis (Tampa Catholic):
  • SG 2015 Angel Golden (Alonso):
  • SF 2015 Trinity Baptiste (Hillsborough):
  • PG 2017 Chelsie Hall (Seffner Christian):
  • PG 2015 Maiya Trigg (Strawberry Crest):
  • SF 2015 Rachel Briere (Steinbrenner)


Second Team:

  • Alyssa Nieves 2017 (Armwood)
  • Shayna Lawrence 2016(Plant City)
  • Alexis Allen 2016 (Sickles)
  • Mia Blocker 2017 (Tampa Catholic)
  • Terra Brooks 2016 (Strawberry Crest)
  • Don’niya Brooks 2016 (Brooks DeBartolo)
  • Alyssa Jones 2018 (Alonso)


Honorable Mention:

  • Asia Royster (Seffner Christian)
  • Imani Thomas (Academy at the Lakes)
  • Lacey Hargrove (Plant City)
  • Nari Garner (Freedom)
  • Nandi Jorden (Strawberry Crest)
  • Cyann Fox (Armwood)
  • Avery Brown (Plant City)
  • Bree Williams (Middleton)
  • Amanda Melosky (Wiregrass Ranch)
  • Courtney Hall (Steinbrenner)
  • Ivy Carswell (Spoto)
  • Kirthisha Nelson (Tampa Bay Tech)
  • Payton Paro (Plant)
  • Ally Parimore (Seffner Christian)
  • Deja Turner (Plant)
  • Megan Clark (Freedom)
  • Stephanie Brower (Wiregrass Ranch)
  • Christiana Rolack (Robinson)
  • Mariah Grossman (Brooks DeBartolo)
  • Savannah Giles (Robinson)